From the Horse's Mouth

Posted in stream of consciousness by theskinhorse on May 18, 2010

I have pieces of Time

sealed in a bottle,

dismembered and broken,

static in resin.

I have pieces of Time

sealed in a bottle

that vibrates at the end

of my chain

during Water percussion.

I have pieces of Time

sealed in bottle,

made by hands that love,

and a mind that shines.

I have pieces of Time

sealed in a bottle

around my neck

that I finger

as I meditate

on pieces of Time

as S/He dances

without moving.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Brian said, on June 25, 2010 at 8:25 pm

    “Does it hurt?” asked the Rabbit.

    “Sometimes,” said the Skin Horse, for he was always truthful. “When you are Real you don’t mind being hurt.”

    It’s difficult to know if I belong in this space or if our interactions could only ever have existed in those different lives we inhabited years ago. The times where we danced with poetry, and talked for hours about important things and trivial things as if there were no difference, because there was none.

    I’m tempted to tell you how different I am now but really what could any of that mean. And who knows if your ears could even understand my strange words so far removed from since we lst spoke, or even if I could understand your response.If I might mistake your words for silence?

    Still even if the lives we lead now are not meant to intersect, perhaps it mean something to say I would like them to and have hope that one day we’ll share the same lifetime/line again. In any event I will always think of you fondly and as a friend.

    I am not here, however, to bask in nostalgia or get drunk off recollections. What I did want to say is that late this year my very first book will be published. I wanted to thank you then, for in that lifetime ago your creativity and artistry improved my writing by leaps and bounds. I owe a debt of gratitude to many for various facets of this book, and you are among them. Probably as ever dancing at the head of the pack.

    I do hope one day to write with you again, perhaps even have the odd conversation…but in any event reading through your blog here has been wonderful. Your writing is alive as ever. I don’t think I had quite realized how much I had missed it until this afternoon. Such is life.

    Anyway, thank you again.

    • theskinhorse said, on June 26, 2010 at 8:20 am

      “It doesn’t happen all at once,” said the Skin Horse. “You become. It takes a long time. That’s why it doesn’t happen often to people who break easily, or have sharp edges, or who have to be carefully kept. Generally, by the time you are Real, most of your hair has been loved off, and your eyes drop out and you get loose in the joints and very shabby. But these things don’t matter at all, because once you are Real you can’t be ugly, except to people who don’t understand.”

      …”once you are Real you can’t become unreal again. It lasts for always.”

      This blog is not quite a journal and not quite entirely “mine.” At least I don’t think of it that way.

      Such times of creative exchange that you mentioned, I enjoyed them as well. I think of them fondly. Of all the many things that those times were, they were unique. I had to make serious choices, many with catastrophic repercussions in one way or another. Much was destroyed to open a New Way. So yes, I am different, too. It’s what I expect; I expect people to change and become different. If they don’t, I don’t believe they are really engaging with Life.

      I do not predict roads. In fact, I make more of an effort not to try at all, but instead to walk them. And if a particular road leads me to places I don’t want to go, I change direction. I was at many crossroads, and I made decisions that had to be made then to be where I am now. The direction I am taking is fulfilling. The path responds in ways that are a good fit for me. I welcome intersections and detours even when I don’t. I’m someone different than who you knew as well, though her and I share the same name. We share memories from time to time so I will likely recognize you if/when I see you, but only from her memories, which will be inaccurate in this line. Every meeting is a new one.

      Congratulations on your book! That is certainly big news, and I am sure you are beaming. It is a wonderful feeling. I will look for it. I appreciate the gratitude you express, and I know it is something you didn’t have to do. My creative writing pieces are few and far between so I am glad that whatever influence they had is being put to good use.

      For what it is worth, though it’s late, I apologize for past shit-storms that I kicked up, especially regarding my limitations on communication clarity.

      I am glad you enjoy the blog. Take care.


Leave a Reply

