From the Horse's Mouth

Search for an “Electric Eye”

Posted in Mind Goo by theskinhorse on October 21, 2009

If I had 20/20 vision, I would seriously consider becoming a roaming gypsy. People with such clear vision often take it for granted. Perhaps the clarity of the inner eye has a price?

Someone searched for the meaning of the “electric eye.” I’m not sure if I hold the wisdom or not, but to the ones that seek it, here is what I’ve found for you:

One definition

A company

Lyrics to the “electric eye,” a song by Judas Priest:

Up here in space
I’m looking down on you
My lasers trace
Everything you do

You think you’ve private lives
Think nothing of the kind
There is no true escape
I’m watching all the time

I’m made of metal
My circuits gleam
I am perpetual
I keep the country clean

I’m elected electric spy
I’m protected electric eye

Always in focus
You cant feel my stare
I zoom into you
You dont know Im there

I take a pride in probing all your secret moves
My tearless retina takes pictures that can prove

I’m made of metal
My circuits gleam
I am perpetual
I keep the country clean

I’m elected electric spy
I’m protected electric eye

Electric eye, in the sky
Feel my stare, always there
Theres nothing you can do about it
Develop and expose
I feed upon your every thought
And so my power grows

I’m made of metal
My circuits gleam
I am perpetual
I keep the country clean

I’m elected electric spy
I’m protected electric eye

And let’s not forget “Moonage Daydream” by David Bowie (one of my all-time favorites by him):

I’m an alligator, I’m a mama-papa coming for you
I’m the space invader, I’ll be a rock ‘n’ rollin’ bitch for you
Keep your mouth shut,
you’re squawking like a pink monkey bird
And I’m busting up my brains for the words

Keep your ‘lectric eye on me babe
Put your ray gun to my head
Press your space face close to mine, love

Freak out in a moonage daydream oh yeah!

Don’t fake it baby, lay the real thing on me
The church of man, love
Is such a holy place to be
Make me baby, make me know you really care

Make me jump into the air

Keep your ‘lectric eye on me babe
Put your ray gun to my head
Press your space face close to mine, love
Freak out in a moonage daydream oh yeah!

Freak out, far out, in out

Tagged with: ,

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. oracleofthepearl said, on October 22, 2009 at 11:56 pm

    Perhaps the clarity of the inner eye has a price?
    That’s what I’ve been wonderin’. Really.

    Haven’t thought of Moonage Daydream for ages. What fun! You just took me on a little trip you know.
    Thanks for sharin’.
    Pearl

    • theskinhorse said, on October 23, 2009 at 7:39 am

      Words are meant to be vehicles for our journeys. Glad you could catch one of my magic carpets. Nice to see you, Pearl.

  2. redpillneo said, on October 23, 2009 at 12:28 am

    From Odin to Tiresias, this phenomena has been personified in myth throughout our history.

    I can only comment that fixating on the price of this clarity has led me by turns to both pride and self-pity, neither of which are particularly useful in attaining further clarity. Still, such “sickness” is not unlike the tearing of a bodybuilder’s muscles cells, vaccination, or pregnancy: there are some afflictions which ultimately harden us; and in their time, these blessings are truly worthy of celebration.

    Good luck with the gypsy training.

    • theskinhorse said, on October 23, 2009 at 7:43 am

      Thanks for this; it adds a dash of perspective that is very appreciated this particular morning. At times, we all direct (perhaps undue or unnecessary) attention to the aches along the way. I would not take the reverse position, by any means, if the invitation was extended.

      Blessings on your journey, too.


Leave a Reply

