From the Horse's Mouth

Beach Sanctuary

Posted in stream of consciousness by theskinhorse on April 19, 2009

There are innate preferences. These should not be regarded by anyone’s influences as wrong.

Actually, let me start with this: The Myers-Briggs type indicator. The temptation to kill time utilizing an accessible and fast-paced entity paired with the inherent curiousity and/or self-absorption of the social human animal has increased the popularity of placing ourselves in square on a grid with assigned traits to compare to our friends and neighbors. The types are defined by the way in which the individual perceives, processes and interacts with the world. Once we know in which square we and our friends reside, we can say

“it makes so much more sense now…”

or “I always knew we were too diiferent (or too much the same)…”

or “we really DO understand each other’s perspective (or never will)…”

At times the inner dialogue can progress to something akin to “my way is better, and I will tell them why.” or “why doesn’t everyone think/act like me?” or “I will attempt to modify those around me to fit better within my square, so we can be there together.”

Boxes of defined perception and operation feel comfortable, like homes; we want our loved ones to be there with us. We all do not “work” the same.

Sometimes… We are built with the same materials, but we are built different ways.

Sometimes… We are built the same way but with different materials.

Remember those light psychological tests that give insight into our psyches? “You are walking through a forest…” types. Someone guides you to a scene of which you paint. The picture before you is a projection of your mind, your internal world, your hopes and dreams and fears, your expectations and your personal truths.

We went to the beach the other day. Sitting so close to Mother Ocean, hearing her lullabies roll onto the shore and call me Home again, I can’t help but be silent with reverence and turn all my eyes in, up-and-out. With my toes wiggling in warm, soft sand, I found myself wishing the beach was largely empty save for myself, my partner and a few more reverent souls. “How many people are on your beach?” Another probe into the psych which really asks “How solitary are you?”

For me? The beach, whether in my dreams, my hopes, or my mind’s eye, it is always practically empty. I am alone or in the company of one or two of my intimates. The people that are few and far between are quiet and serene. We acknowledge each other when we are within ear- or eye-shot; we nod or give spirit-bows as we pass by, usually in silence. We are monks of the shore; each footprint in the sand is a prayer and each breath or blissful sigh is an offering. That is my beach, one where Mother Ocean is free to be herself and she is loved, honored and meditated upon.

I suppose this means that I am a solitary kitty. Such has always been the way.

I sat among the people, at least half a dozen camps less than ten feet away, and I wished for space to unravel. I thought about my head-beach. With time, the population thinned greatly, and I was afforded my sanctuary by the ocean.

I awoke this morning with thoughts regarding peace and stimulation. It has loose associations with the Myers-Briggs personality boxes. Those “introverts” are often those seeking peace. They would trade stimulation for peace… as I often would. This is mirrored in many ways. In situations I am more apt to act according to what will deliver me the most peace as opposed to what will give me the most activity. Some individuals have distinct problems with this behavior when it so obviously manifests in me. It is not the same as flat-out avoidance or laziness; in fact, many times the path to peace is an active one. The activity may not be as explicit or clear to others.

Often, introverts need less stimulation than extroverts, even biologically. There are numerous hypotheses regarding behaviors and dispositions being driven by an individual’s capacity to respond (the degree of stimulation which is necessary to produce certain neurological effects).  It is postulated that generally, introverts have a lower threshold for stmulation. (Pick your wording here) Meaning they are more responsive, it takes less stimulation for them to respond, they will become overwhelmed before extroverts.

Some behavior is innate. We are different. We shouldn’t be judged for our differences in perceiving and interacting with the world… but, rest assured, we will be.

I will trade stimulation for peace most days. If I can define who I am, that is part of it. Additionally, I won’t be made to feel like I should apologize for it.

Tagged with: , , , ,

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. eleventhustwo said, on April 21, 2009 at 1:09 am

    It’s like what Bob used to be so often quoted as saying: the map is not the territory. No two people will process the same stuff the same way, and processing something differently isn’t inherently ::any-thing::.

    You’re way the most important.

    My beach is mostly empty, but there are usually others within eyeshot. And there is also the occasional fire with large gathering.

    • theskinhorse said, on April 21, 2009 at 6:35 am

      I love bonfires. We need to do that some time. Large gatherings are nice to have at the beach… one day when I have a house by the ocean, I’ll host some.

      In the ways in which we experience the world (and to bring out the absurdist… yes, more and more), nothing is inherently any-thing in regards to personal experience. If I italicize words like “nothing” or “is,” in this instance, the meaning doesn’t much change and the impact is not augmented; that should tell us something.

  2. eleventhustwo said, on April 21, 2009 at 1:13 am

    p.s.:

    e
    el
    ele
    elev
    eleve
    eleven
    elevent
    eleventh
    eleventhu
    eleventhus
    eleventhust
    eleventhustw
    eleventhustwo

    11:2

    • theskinhorse said, on April 21, 2009 at 6:36 am

      mmmm 11 pyramid. I like “eleventh us.”

      paradox thus tunnel.

  3. gypsy-heart said, on May 4, 2009 at 2:59 pm

    I am a solitary being, and I have hermit ways. I have a large wide circle..and a very small inner circle..and two within it are not human. :)

    I can walk alone on the beach or through the thick woods and I am renewed of energy. Much of what I need can be found right there.

    I am trying to catch up on your posts..I am way behind. I’ll say it again, you write beautifully. ‘Tis unique and I like that.

    Good energies and peace of heart to you.

    • theskinhorse said, on May 4, 2009 at 7:59 pm

      I also am revitalized by the natural world. It is imperative that I immerse myself. I try to get lost in it at least a little bit each day, whether it be watching the clouds roll, concentrating on the flow of air through my mouth, touching flower petals as I walk by them or feeling the sun through the trees.

      Never any rush on the reading; I am here, in this form, for you always as you are here, in that form for me. :)

      And likewise… all the good stuff.


Leave a Reply

