From the Horse's Mouth

four star day dream

Posted in 1 by theskinhorse on April 15, 2009

I feel the pressures of this abstract force to which we attached value some time in the past with the idea of making our lives easier. Once upon a time, it was something, revered for its rarity, shininess and beauty. We pushed it. We faked it. We determined that representation of worth was more appropriate. Now we are left with abstract numbers and identities infused in synthetic polymers. Our activity is tracked as the math feels like anvils dragging the body to a premature death. I feel my face drop, my hopes knot (…naught), my optimism dissolve into the empty spaces of necessary resources. (for unnecessary lifestyles?) Logs don’t give the benefit of the doubt.

Tagged with:

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. jx said, on April 15, 2009 at 8:02 pm

    Thank you, for this.

    • theskinhorse said, on April 16, 2009 at 8:36 am

      You are certainly more than welcome. Your blog is like a breath of fresh to me.

  2. gypsy-heart said, on April 16, 2009 at 10:20 pm

    I followed you home. :)

    My, my you write beautifully….you paint with your words…chiaroscuro style.

    A mystery you are, and I do like a good mystery.

    • theskinhorse said, on April 17, 2009 at 7:51 am

      You are always welcome here. It’s nice to have visitors, especially ones with rich palettes. Thank you for the compliments. My hand is not as talented to illustrate the dreamscapes in my mind with paint so I utilize other mediums as colors.

      I admit that I had to wiki chiaroscuro. After looking at some of the art, I would say that your observation is very apt. I love the play of light and shadows and their influence on color, tone and perspective. I also love that it’s an Italian word… you managed to key into some of my heritage.

      A mystery aren’t we all. ;)

  3. gypsy-heart said, on April 17, 2009 at 10:12 pm

    Chiaroscuro defines my life.

    Connections..eh. Even your heritage. :)

    Yes we are all mysteries..even unto to ourselves. Isn’t it wonderful!

    I noticed you do not have a link when you leave a comment..is that intentional?

    • theskinhorse said, on April 19, 2009 at 9:21 am

      Actually, the non-link action is not intentional. I am still relatively new to wordpress so some of the options (etc) are not fully worked out. I am not even sure where I would go to change this. :P


Leave a Reply

