From the Horse's Mouth

The repeating reel

Posted in Mind Goo by theskinhorse on April 1, 2009

A creative wirting prompt that struck chords in me:

“Compose a list of familiar phrases, or phrases that have stayed in your mind for a long time–from songs, from poems, from conversation.” Language is a virus

Some pieces I collected:

I want something good to die for to make it beautiful to live. -QoTSA Go with the Flow


The tarot will teach you how to create a soul. -Alejandro Jodorowsky, The Holy Mountain


When she was young we’d ask her what she’d like to be
and she’d close her eyes and dream… -The Presets Girl and the Sea


All the little horses were covered with snow. (from a personal poem)

Why are you wearing that stupid man suit? –Donnie Darko


It is the master who seeks the disciple. -Alejandro Jodorowsky, The Holy Mountain


If you’re looking for love
In a looking glass world
Its pretty hard to find  -Roxy Music Mother of Pearl


Pimps don’t commit suicide. –Southland Tales


Adaptation is a profound process. Means you figure out how to thrive in the world. –Adaptation


How do you eat an elephant? -My mother

Warriors, come out to plaaaaaay. –Warriors


Do perpendiculars. (personal prose)

i carry your heart with me(i carry it in
my heart) – E. E. Cummings

As if that blind rage had washed me clean, rid me of hope; for the first time, in that night alive with signs and stars, I opened myself to the gentle indifference of the world. Finding it so much like myself — so like a brother, really — I felt that I had been happy and that I was happy again. For everything to be consummated, for me to feel less alone, I had only to wish that there be a large crowd of spectators the day of my execution and that they greet me with cries of hate. – Albert Camus The Stranger


Again I looked into the mirror. I had been mad. I must have been mad. There was no wolf in the mirror, lolling his tongue in his maw. It was I, Harry. . . . My face was gray, forsaken of all fancies, wearied by all vice, horribly pale. Still it was a human being, someone one could speak to.
“Harry,” I said, “what are you doing there?”
“Nothing,” said he in the mirror, “I am only waiting. I am waiting for death.”
“Where is death then?”
“Coming,” said the other. -Hermann Hesse Steppenwolf


Alice: But I don’t want to go among mad people.
The Cheshire Cat: Oh, you can’t help that. We’re all mad here. – Alice in Wonderland


Bucky sez: I will take all yer weed. – Darby Conley Get Fuzzy


Connect to silence, say a prayer, let go of the rope
Then let it come
Now i’m done and I know
Because it hurts in all ways
In other words I am a passenger
A dream that’s over
I’ll let your wild ocean
Hold my light while you’re quite broken…it’s alright
I’ll let the emotion roll my eyes
If not I apologize – I Mother Earth Passenger

Learning how to walk again on substances too thin, light a match and stand back; wait for the fire to begin. (personal poem)

a cobra on my left
Leopard on my right, yeah

lions in the night

We need someone or something new
Something else to get us through, yeah, cmon
Callin on the dogs, callin on the dogs
Oh, its gettin harder, callin on the dogs

When all else fails, we can whip the horses eyes
And make them sleep, and cry. -Jim Morrison, The Doors, The Soft Parade


I just saunter into the electric eye in my white shirt that my mother ironed the night before, and the door heaves itself open, and outside the sunshine is skating around on the asphalt…. my stomach kind of fell as I felt how hard the world was going to be to me hereafter.- John Updike A&P

Tagged with: , , ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. 94stranger said, on April 3, 2009 at 4:10 am

    angels rush in
    where we fools fear to tread


Leave a Reply

